top of page

Early Spring Surprise


After a long lay-off due to inclement weather, and chasing salmon land-based ( all be it unsuccessfully) . I decided to pack the The Malcom Douglas ( my yak) and search metro waters for King George Whiting. I was on the water by 10 past 7 and anchored and burleying in one of my favourite holes by 7:25 am. However the once ever productive hole failed to raise a bite in over an hour. I decided it was now time to move, with the tide ripping out . I ventured to my favourite Snook spot hoping to tempt a few toothy critters. This again was unsuccessful, yielding one touch from a squid in an hour of fishing.

At this point, I was well cold and seriously contemplating heading in with a big donut. however i decided to really increase my burley output in a last ditch effort to attract some action. This worked with the surface erupting 20 meters behind the yak. I quickly throughout a surface line expecting a Tommy, only to hook and land a nice sized gar. With this surprise i downsized my hooks to size 12 and started to present little baits under a pencil float. The gar were hungry and I had a dozen nice sized gar in no time.

I then decided to live bait a gar for squid. This worked well attracting quite a few squid, of which i was able to land 5 over the next hour on my Yozuri Jag. These surprises of garfish so early and squid in dirty water turned around a very dismal morning. It just goes to show, whenever you are fishing, always be adaptable.

sorry no photos with this post.


bottom of page